Labour’s Joe Anderson has been named Liverpool Mayor after winning the city’s first ever directly-elected mayoral vote, gaining 58,448 (57.7%) of the votes cast for the 12 candidates.


Mr Anderson, formerly Liverpool's Council Leader, now takes office as mayor, with Independent Liam Fogarty finishing in second place on 8,292 votes, and Richard Kemp of the Lib Dems third with 6,238.


A colourful and eventful campaign came to a head at the Wavertree Tennis Centre count, where it emerged that a large majority of Liverpool's voters did not engage with the contest as the confirmed turnout for the mayor election was just 31.7%.


Mayor Anderson told JMU Journalism: “I think it’s

a great result, I’m delighted. It’s a huge sign of

confidence in the Labour Party in Liverpool and

hopefully confidence in me to deliver the

promises we’ve made.”


Runner-up Liam Fogarty told JMU Journalism:

“I’m very humbled because a lot of volunteers,

many of whom have never done politics before,

came out to support me. I believe there is great

hope for Liverpool. Congratulations to Joe and I

wish him good luck.”


After the result had been announced, the National

Front supporters opened a banner and protested

during and after Joe Anderson’s victory speech

before being escorted out by police.


Tony Caldeira, who finished seventh, told JMU

Journalism: “It’s disappointing for the city that the

election result was marred by such an unfortunate

protest. We’ve fought a very strong, positive

campaign to try to improve the reputation of the

city and we believe that our city has got a great

future. Congratulations to Mayor Anderson and I

think Liverpool is the big winner tonight.”


Jeff Berman, who ran as an independent

candidate in this campaign and came tenth, told

JMU Journalism: “It certainly doesn’t end today.

Over the next four years I will be campaigning,

still carrying on the work I’ve done and letting

people know how Liverpool can be improved.”


The council’s decision to by-pass a public

referendum on the mayoral election made it an

historic day for Liverpool, as many other cities

across the country - apart from London - decided

whether or not to have a directly-elected mayor.

Manchester was among the cities to vote 'no'.


The ward area Liverpool City Council votes will

be handled in a separate count which will take

place on Friday afternoon.




Anderson wins first Liverpool Mayor vote

By Patrick Arnold, James Routledge & Christopher Cunningham

Related websites

A-JMU-newsbanner Homepage TV & Radio Special coverage LSS WoW Factor Picture galleries Liverpool Life News & Features Website team Top 10 Top 10 Blogs Sport Entertainment Shorthand Sue Alumni Meet the staff International & Travel Coursework Fashion

Joe Anderson won the mayoral vote with Independent Liam Fogarty finishing in second place   

Mayor vote 2012 campaign


JMU Journalism politics



Votes cast 101,301 (31.7% turnout)


1) Joe Anderson (Labour) 58,448 votes

2) Liam Fogarty (Independent) 8,292

3) Richard Kemp (Liberal Democrat) 6,238

4) John Coyne (Green Party) 5,175

5) Tony Mulhearn (TUSC) 4,792

6) Steve Radford (Liberal Party) 4,442

7) Tony Caldeira (Conservative) 4,425

8) Adam Heatherington (UK Independence) 2,352

9) Paul Rimmer (English Democrats) 1,400

10) Jeff Berman (Liverpool Independent) 1,362

11) Mike Whitby (British National Party) 1,015

12) Peter Quiggins (National Front) 566


Pic: Liam Deveney


© Trinity Mirror